An Ode to Peter Steel (RIP) & Type-O-Negative


In my life I have very few hero’s (for lack of a better term- strongly admirered people maybe?). Larry Bird, Red Auerbach, Leonard Nimoy, Gary Cohen and Peter Steele. Yesterday the second of my hero’s passed away. To me, Peters creative genius being silenced forever is a loss for everyone. I feel for the band members of Type-O-Negative and Peter’s family, but I challenge you to listen closely to the music he wrote and not be moved, or not relate in some capacity. Is it possible Peter’s best musical days were ahead of him? It has been said with age comes wisdom…could he have put forth his masterpiece in his 50’s? We will now never know….and to me that is the worst part of yesterday’s news.

Peter is the single most tormented musician I ever interviewed. Humor was a mask for the pain of loss and loneliness he felt in his life. Every time I met him I came away thinking “what a great guy, but what is so terrible in his life?” If you listen to the music you hear pain in lines like “I’m searching for something that can’t be found…but I’m hoping!” and the first lines of Life Is Killing Me (Album) he said “I don’t want to be…I don’t wanna be me anymore!”. Then on the turn of the dime he would unleash something emotional, beautiful and very powerful (see. “Love You To Death”, “How Could She”, “Pyretta Blaze”). His dynamic beauty and torment is what made Peter the incredibly unique musician and person that he was and what he will forever be in music.

Peter has been a common bond in my family. My Mom and brother all agree that simply put – “Peter is awesome!” Today I feel for the band members. I also feel for Peter in that he was never able to find complete happiness in life. But mostly, I am saddened that the musical odyssey known as Type-O-Negative came to an abrupt end with Peter’s death. An an unfinished chapter if you will..a much to soon ending without buttoned up loose ends to the story.

It has been said that music is the soundtrack to your life. Peter wrote soundtracks for thousands of people worldwide. Even in death those soundtracks live on. Thanks to Peter for the time over the years, for being inadvertently part of some wonderful memories with my college friends and family (yes my Mom even joined me for a TON concert), for being the common bond that tied the knot between me and my significant other and most importantly- for writing simply amazingly unique music while being a real life human- flaws for all to see! I will miss you and will think of you every Halloween.

1 Comment

  1. […] band, Type O Negative, about a social media strategy,when the band dissolved after founding member Peter Steele’s death. Once he found out that Abruscato started a new band, the couple came forward to offer […]


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a comment