Metal Has Become Mainstream


I’ve noticed something recently, which kind of took me by surprise. Somehow, quietly, heavy metal has become mainstream. No longer are we the bastard children of the music industry. I remember talk for a long time that rap would always be more mainstream than metal, but not anymore.

Don’t believe me? Go watch any non-chick flick movie trailer. Almost all of them have heavy metal playing in the background. Need further proof? How about Guitar Hero Metallica? If you told me way back when And Justice For All came out that Metallica would have a video game, I would have laughed hard. Even if you told me that after they sold out and came out with their “black” album, I still wouldn’t have believed you. Metal bands consistently play in the middle east, and metal music rules the video game scene. Heavy metal is everywhere. Check out the soundtrack to most action movies now and they are filled with metal. Horror movies too.

What’s next? Maybe instead of Rock The Vote next election should be Mosh The Vote. Maybe President Obama will start sporting Atreyu T’s and will shoot devil horns at the next State of the Union. Maybe Hatebreed will right a new national anthem. Okay, maybe not. Maybe I am making a mountain out of a molehill. But metal has come a long way, and we are far closer to being a metal nation than I had ever dared dream.
Share This Post
Bookmark and Share

1 Comment

  1. Even though MTV destroyed music, and Metallica sold out ; Metal never went away.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a comment